KHSU Alternative Therapy playlist

Being on air at KSLG makes me happy. Subbing on KHSU, where I hosted a music show from approximately 2002 through 2005, reminds me how fun it is to shuffle through new CDs (CDs!), skip through tracks listening for what catches, have one song trigger the thought, “Oh, I should play this!” and then get to play it. I could’ve gone for hours. Thanks to Mad Doctor Matt for letting me fill in – I wasn’t anywhere near as smooth, but I sure enjoyed myself and think I provided an all right experience for anyone listening.

Playlist:

White Rabbits – Percussion Gun/It’s Frightening
Iggy Pop – Search and Destroy/Kill City reissue
The National – Anyone’s Ghost/High Violet
Wolf Parade – Ghost Pressure/Expo 86
PJ Harvey (with Thom Yorke) – This Mess We’re In/Stories from the City, Stories from the Sea
X – Burning House of Love/Beyond and Back: The X Anthology
Isobel Campbell & Mark Lanegan – Come Undone/Hawk
Film School – Sunny Day/Fission

(running out of time to make links, sorry)

Danger Mouse & Sparklehorse – Little Girl/Dark Night of the Soul
Sonic Youth – 100%/Dirty
The Intelligence – The Beetles/Males
Helio Sequence – Keep Your Eyes Ahead/Keep Your Eyes Ahead
The Morning Benders – Promises/Big Echo
The Buzzcocks – Ever Fallen in Love (live at Hammersmith Odeon)
The Black Rabbits – HypnoSwitch/The Black Rabbits
The White Stripes – Jolene (live version)/Under Great White Northern Lights
The Black Angels – Sunday Afternoon/Phosphene Dream
Radiohead – High and Dry/The Bends
Eels – Souljacker, Pt. 1/SoulJacker
Les Savy Fav – Let’s Get Out of Here/Root for Ruin
TV on the Radio – Shout Me Out/Dear Science
The Walkmen – Woe is Me/Lisbon
Mudhoney – Sweet Young Thing (Ain’t Sweet No More)/Superfuzz Bigmuff
Nirvana – Radio Friendly Unit Shifter/In Utero
Soundgarden – Jesus Christ Pose/Badmotorfinger
The Pixies – Gigantic/Surfer Rosa
David Byrne & Brian Eno – Strange Overtones/Everything that Happens will Happen Today
Arctic Monkeys – View From the Afternoon/Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I Am Not (I love the video for this.)
Two Door Cinema Club – Do You Want It All?/Tourist History
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – (Are You) The One I’ve Been Waiting For?/The Boatman’s Call

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Thanks for subbing for me, Jen! I caught about the last 20 minutes. Sounded great! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,012 other followers

