"Going to Costa Rica"

Several weeks ago, a CD arrived for me. Not the usual local band hoping for airplay, but a mix CD with a note:

“Dear Jen,
I’ve seen you surfing once in a while but not lately – so I send this for two reasons – to say how great it is to hear you on the radio and in case it can save you time from picking out songs so you can surf. Whatever purpose it may or may not serve – I hope you like some of the songs.”

I know the guy (I’m pretty sure I’m thinking of the right guy) who sent it and have been hoping to see him around so I could thank him. So far I haven’t mentioned it on air – maybe he’d be embarrassed? – but it’s a great mix. Googling his name got me nowhere.

“Going to Costa Rica”

Malibu Love Nest – Luna
Three is a Magic Number – Blind Melon
Perfect Skin – Lloyd Cole and the Commotion
Train in Vain – The Clash
Stream Running Over – The Apples in Stereo
Gold Lion – Yeah Yeah Yeahs
Off the Record – My Morning Jacket
Naked Eye – Lucious Jackson
All Cause of You – The 88
No Rain – Blind Melon
Black Horse and The Cherry Tree – KT Turnstall
Staring at the Sun – TV on the Radio
The Needle Has Landed – Neko Case
Do it Again Again – The Tyde
Strangers – Golden Smog
See the World – Gomez
Fidelity – Regina Spektor
Father and Daughter – Paul Simon
Zamba Gris – Marta Topferova

Leave a Reply

