diabetes update


We’re off to SF Tuesday and Wednesday. Nick’s due for an appointment anyway, but the recent trend of high blood sugars needs to be addressed without delay. He’s also in line for a blood test to determine if he has celiac disease. (No, no, no! I cannot incorporate a wheat-free diet into our lives on top of everything else!) (Of course, if I have to, I will.)

Books on diabetes I’ve read so far:

Real Life Parenting of Kids With Diabetes by Virginia Loy: the touchstone of optimism and success I needed. A serendipitous find at the library shortly after Nick’s initial diagnosis. I bought my own copy recently.

Getting a Grip on Diabetes by Spike and Bo Loy: a book her sons, diagnosed with diabetes a year apart, wrote. Hers is the companion piece; we did it the other way, where this one provided the comfort and information to Nick that the mom’s did to me.

Think Like a Pancreas by Gary Scheiner, MS, CDE: a book providing “the tools to successfully master the art and science of matching insulin to the body’s ever-changing needs.” Despite the accessible writing, the density of information makes me feel like I’m studying for a class when I’m reading it. Of course, in a way, I am.

When Nick’s blood sugars stay within the “good” boundaries, taking care of his needs seems easy – but I know it’s not. When he was away at camp, I was surprised how weird it felt to not have to measure carbs, to not have to be walking around with all the math in my head and supplies in hand. This is a real, palpable burden for him – even though because diabetes treatment has progressed so much over the past few decades, we’re able to manage relatively easily.

I still have nightmares – what if we can’t get his insulin? His syringes? He’s forgotten to mention when he’s low on test strips before (we go through those faster than anything, so I can’t seem to stay ahead on the prescriptions), which suddenly throws us into crisis mode. He’s left his diabetes kit places by mistake – so much to remember all the time! – which could have dire and immediate consequences. Jars me from any erroneous complacency, that’s for sure.

But for now, we’re OK. He’s OK. I’m back into Thinking Like a Pancreas, looking for advice, and we’ll be back at the doctor’s for help next week.

We’re lucky to have such support and resources. I should work toward making sure that’s true for everyone.

One thought on “diabetes update”

Leave a Reply

