Glenn's party today

Today is the party for Glenn Stockwell, longtime CR poli sci prof, surfer, Surfrider and also a Humboldt Baykeeper skipper. I’d volunteered to organize the event, a homecoming welcome. While I did pull things together, my concern is that maybe I didn’t do enough – maybe I should’ve left it to someone with more time for creativity and errand-running. Plenty of people stepped up to help, though, and we have no shortage of love for this man. Glenn’s always been great to me, whether rides out to the Jetty, up to Crescent City, or just general surf encouragement. I’ve spent a lot of time swapping stories en route to CC and standing out on the rocks debating the waves. I really want this to go well.

As I posted on the Glenn-news blog, Lou and Beth summed up my own modus operandi when it comes to parties: “Maybe the best way to do this is to just announce that this is a potluck, BYOB, bring a plant or decoration, a picture of Glenn if you have one and we can just let the community create this party. I know from experience that if you set up a time and place the people of this community will make it wonderful.”

That’s how I do it at home – and my parties are always a hit. For Glenn’s, we’ll definitely have food, beer, water and coffee, flowers, a Neil Young cover band(!) and a bunch of great people. It has to be fun. But I have two worries: either not enough people will come and we’ll have too much of everything or too many people will come and we’ll have a shortage. Now that it’s Saturday morning I can think of a dozen additional things I shoulda woulda done.

Glenn’s is the second party of my weekend. I’m pleased to report that Nick’s – for which I put in even less planning – came off just fine. Thankfully the weather held, so the boys could skate and sandboard. As evidenced by my deck, which appeared to be home to an explosion of skateboards, shoes and helmets.

nick-birthday-deck-small.jpg

3 thoughts on “Glenn's party today”

  1. dear jen
    i’m sorry it’s taken me so long to thank you for glenn’s party, it sounded wonderful and he wished he could have gone, but he was afraid he might have an “accident” while he was there. his recovery has been remarkable, he actually ate bites of real food and had 2 sips of wine this weekend at his brother’s in santa cruz. all of his scans are done, the stanford docs were happy with the results, today we are waiting for the consult with the melanoma doctors in san francisco then we’ll be home. i hope you’ll be seeing him on the beach soon, maybe not surfing but hanging out with his buddies. come visit anytime, and thanks again for all your love and support.

  2. Christina, it was an honor to be involved. With all the love people have for Glenn, getting people to help out was easy – we missed him, but hopefully he enjoyed the video and cards. I hope to see him soon. Please let us know if you (and I do mean you, not just Glenn!) need anything at all.

Leave a Reply

