New Year's Resolution

I’ve come full circle. Originally I believed in New Year’s Resolution, in the power to start fresh. Hope would be renewed, second (or third or twenty-first) chances would come, the universe would smile upon me and finally offer the blessings of thinness, wealth and success I’d worked for. (“Peace on Earth” is for Christmas wishing; New Year’s is all about self-improvement.)

Then I got cynical. Unable to keep from rebelling against authority – even my own – I’d go on a diet and eat more, make a budget and spend more, mediate and explode later in the day with increasing frequency. And because now I wasn’t just blowing it, but Breaking My Resolutions, the erring felt even more unforgivable, even more emblematic of loserhood.

But now I’m back, confident that I Can Do This. I can make myself a better person, my world a better place. I can shed bad habits and cultivate new ones.

This is going to be the year I Do Everything Right.

It’s gonna be great.

3 thoughts on “New Year's Resolution”

  1. Good for you. Resolutions, in my opinion, are really an excuse for most people, something that they show the world and brag about…until they start to break them. You’ve got it right, resolutions are promises you need to make yourself.

    For example, last year I decided I was going to get in shape. I told everyone I knew, started doing push-ups, and then promptly forgot all about it. I felt like I let down my friends more than myself.

    This year, I’m just making a promise to myself. If I don’t stay true to it, no one else will care, but I will never forgive myself. I think that’s the secret.

    Good luck with doing everything right!

  2. I think the key to sticking with resolutions is forgiving yourself when the inevitable screwup happens but still keep on trying to stick with them.

  3. Well….I’m still at 180 degrees and not quite full circle, as you seem to be, but regardless, I wish the best of luck in the new year.

    Happy New Year! May it be better than the last!

Leave a Reply

