Quickly checking in; random reviews

No time to write about life; this week, I have two huge stories to write for the Eye.

I will say I failed to do everything right yesterday. I blame the last-minute purchase of a bottle of Borsao.

Perhaps my mind is in the gutter, but there’s something about that label…

Anyway, the wine is a cheap and tasty red. Libation sells it for $8; when the Co-op has it, they charge about $6.

What else I am a fan of this week?

Juno: A friend and I caught this much-hyped movie at Mill Creek on Wednesday. My expectations were high: snappy dialogue, realistic portrayals of teen characters, smart humor and a killer soundtrack. Happily, the movie scored high on almost all levels. The actors certainly inhabited their characters. One scene rang really false to me, however: the moment in the abortion clinic… I don’t want to spoil anything, but the way that one was played felt forced, like they had to make sure Juno would continue the pregnancy so the movie could go on, too. Otherwise, much laughter and some welling up. If I had more time, I’d offer up my thoughts on teen pregnancy, something that’s been on my mind more than usual lately, what with this movie and Jamie Lynn Spears being in the news. Fortunately, Ariel Gore found time to write a kickass summary similar to my own thoughts.

A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius: I finally read and finished it. I bought it years ago, but never read past the hilarious preface, knowing I lacked the time to read properly, and then it drifted to the back of the bookshelves. As funny and hard-hitting as expected.

(The trouble with reviews is the tendency to rely on adjectives, which, like adverbs, I typically strive to avoid. Typically.)

Local politics: I’ll be writing up the Bay District meeting for Tuesday’s paper as I’ve been doing for the past two years or so, but last Thursday night’s meeting was one for the books. Sitting in the Supes’ Chambers press table lended a certain thrill for sure, but watching Pat Higgins come out of the gate made the proceedings even more exciting. I’ve been watching this board evolve since Mike Wilson was elected; democracy in action is not always exciting. Thursday night, however, brought out a crowd of folks and some snappy back-and-forth among the commissioners. Despite the three hours plus, the dull moments were few.

I did not like everything this week.

Commercials before movies annoy me.

I could think of more, but now I’m reminded of something else I enjoyed: Cary Tennis.

“I came to think about my own dislikes, fervid and legion. I am brimming with dislike. I dislike so many people, so many writers, so many institutions! If I found pleasure in it, I might make a career of publicizing my dislike of others.

“But while I dislike thousands of people, both people I know and people I have never met, while I dislike hundreds of institutions, hundreds of products, so many books and magazines, so many movies and so many snack foods, so many pets and so many shoes, so many cars and so many swizzle sticks, so many fast-food menu items and so many cash register receipt slogans, so many faces and habits and mannerisms and clothing styles, so many oddly colored shoes and hand gestures, so many house colors and vegetable displays, so many driving styles and parking styles and telephone voices, so many political clichés and sayings, while I dislike so many thousands of things with great and vivid intensity, I do not consider my dislike of these things to be a source of wisdom, or a cause of action, or a premise for public expression, or evidence of critical acumen, or a guide to living, or an emotion I wish to impart to you so you can share in it, or an admirable fact about which people will say, at my funeral, ‘He disliked a great many things, and for this we will remember him always.'”

Monday’s forecast looks promising, at least in the sense that the swell isn’t in the double digits:

MON...S WIND 5 TO 15 KT...BECOMING NW 15 TO 25 KT. WIND WAVES
 3 TO 5 FT. W SWELL 6 TO 7 FT. CHANCE OF RAIN...THEN CHANCE OF
 SHOWERS. 
2 thoughts on “Quickly checking in; random reviews”

  1. As a child of a teenage mother (who was kind and patient and loving) and as a older mother myself ( who constantly falls short of the standards set by my mother), I can say that being a teenage mother is not a indication of parental ability. But, and this is a big one, if you have your children later you have a chance to discover who you are and what matters to you before you have to be responsible for someone else. I would never say anything but congratulations to someone who was having a baby early but I might feel a little sad privately for the person they will never get to be.

  2. True – but life is so different for everyone. I got pregnant at 19 and had Chelsea at 20, so I’d been out of high school for a few years and faced less prejudice than a teen mom, but the judgments were still harsh.

    However, being pregnant forced me into becoming a healthier, more caring and more compassionate person earlier than I might have otherwise. Becoming a mother at 20 made me into a better person than I would have otherwise been – I’m sure of it.

Leave a Reply

