Quick posts

To remind myself to write later, about Deep Water, about what doing everything “right” really means, about surfing and about the sharp twist of the gut that occurs when I’m suddenly reminded of how serious and (for now) incurable Nick’s diabetes is. Yesterday, I followed a link that reminded me of the “80,000 amputations of toes, feet and lower legs that diabetics undergo each year.” I am brave and sure that will not happen to Nick, but the words catch me nonetheless. My hands clench; I look away; breathing takes all my concentration. 

3 thoughts on “Quick posts”

  1. I find myself laying my head down in front of the computer with thoughts of the worst possibilities my son faces clogging my throat. I try to remember that he could be one of the lucky ones but my throat doesn’t believe me.

  2. Speaking as someone who has had Type 1 for 14 years…..Please remember that so many of those stats you hear about blindness, amputations etc are the result of long term elevated blood sugars – a lot of which happen to Type 2s who go undiagnosed for a long time or who do not take insulin. MOST of the stats you will hear will be about Type 2s. Thy to block them out. Keep those a1cs in range and your boy will live a long healthy life.

  3. Kym – I often am amazed that anyone has children; it’s so damn scary.

    rubyredgirl – Thanks for the reminder/reality check. I know that proper care is a huge factor, so at least he’s got that going for him.

Leave a Reply

