I am turning into Jennifer "Get Off My Lawn!" Savage

SMBS vandalized: “Officers found that along with allegedly attempting to steal property, the three had reportedly caused extensive damage to the  library and multi-media room, as well as to exterior walls throughout  the school. Damage reportedly included destroyed computers, books and  fixtures, attempts to set fires and graffiti. Officers also found that the three allegedly attempted to kill pet fish in one room, the release states.”

What little assholes. And see, is my first response in line with my professed political ideology of compassion, therapy and rehabilitation? No. I think they should be publicly flogged.
The longer I live, the more I believe that fucked-up kids grow into fucked-up adults. I totally see why liberals change their perspective as they get older (although intellectually, I’m still against be).

Except… what I truly do believe in (besides the flogging) is preventing this sort of thing from happening in the first place. What went wrong in these kids’ lives that led to this? Was it something a more family-supportive social policy could’ve prevented? 

I guess we’ll have to see. Maybe they’re just bad people. What a shame.

2 thoughts on “I am turning into Jennifer "Get Off My Lawn!" Savage”

  1. I agree that their lives would have to really suck to find pleasure in spiteful and wanton destruction. Little assholes indeed. I realize that even attentive parents can be oblivious to children sneaking out (that’s a story for another day) but these are angry kids for whom destruction brings pleasure – their parents should have been more aware. Very sad.

  2. Its the parents. I’m amazed at how many adults are clueless about their children. In law enforcement I get so tired of hearing “Our kids are good students and attend church; they’d never be involved in that”. We need to start arresting parents for irresponsibility. That’d get things turned around!

Leave a Reply

