What I need to do

Surf.

Surf.

Surf.

And did I mention, surf?

How did I get so out-of-shape? (Again.) That is a rhetorical question. A combination of too much time in the car, too much time in front of the computer and my own inherent laziness. Except I’m not really lazy. In fact, this thing that’s happened to my body is not laziness at all. I put family first, work first, me last. If I was lazy, my excuse would involve something like sitting in front of the TV; the reality is, I’m doing laundry, figuring bills, cooking, cleaning, driving, working – that’s what’s keeping me from surfing, walking, running, biking, stretching, yoga-ing. A little selfishness would do wonders for my health. (Me and the dog – we both have Lab tendencies!)

What I need is someone to insist upon it. Someone to look out for my interests, force me to be obligated in that direction – not completely, just enough to force me to shed some weight, increase my cardiovascular capability, strengthen my body. And then I can go big this fall. 

Not much time left. Will I be able to handle Harbor? Patricks? Outside of my imagination, that is.

I need to surf. Did I mention that? I need to be in shape to surf through the fall, the winter. 

I remain optimistic.

3 thoughts on “What I need to do”

  1. …my own inherent laziness. Except I’m not really lazy.

    This is a “mom” thing, Jen. I can relate. As long as something is added to my chore list, I manage to get to it. Once that thing, however, becomes the least bit enjoyable, it is on the “things that make me happy” list and I set it aside for drudgery. What a masochistic thing to do, huh? I don’t mean to sound tragic but I’ve done this forever, putting aside the “I want to” for the “I must”. Damn, I MUST get the kayak out this weekend. Maybe that’s what we have to do. Turn surfing into a chore you must get to. After all, it does benefit the family. As the t-shirt says, “When mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy.”

  2. …my own inherent laziness. Except I’m not really lazy.

    This is a “mom” thing, Jen. I can relate. As long as something is added to my chore list, I manage to get to it. Once that thing, however, becomes the least bit enjoyable, it is on the “things that make me happy” list and I set it aside for drudgery. What a masochistic thing to do, huh? I don’t mean to sound tragic but I’ve done this forever, putting aside the “I want to” for the “I must”. Damn, I MUST get the kayak out this weekend. Maybe that’s what we have to do. Turn surfing into a chore you must get to. After all, it does benefit the family. As the t-shirt says, “When mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy.”

  3. So true, that! And, yes, I do play those mind tricks on myself from time to time – sad that it comes to that, but if putting “surfing” near the top of my to-do list helps make it happen, well, I’m OK with that!

Leave a Reply

