White wine, pumpkin pie and Van Helsing (aka why I love VX)

Somehow I don’t think polishing off a bottle of white wine and two pieces of pumpkin pie meshes with my get-healthy plan. (Don’t tell Ceci!)

Besides, neither one was my fault – in fact, I was only being helpful. See, the paper moved offices today, which meant cleaning out the fridge, where a bottle of white whine happened to be loitering. No one in the office even likes white wine! So after Helen had emptied the ancient salsas, hummus and half-and-half, I bravely volunteered to run the icky stuff to the dumpster. And to take the white wine off her hands. Of course, when my garbage and I arrived at the dumpster – expired cream splashing on my boots as I walked – it was locked. After nodding to the circle of dope-smokers tucked in the alley corner, I left and, after striding back into Jacoby’s,  finally found an open trash can enabling me to deal with the smelly, dripping mess. The wine and I went home. The sun had warmed the house up, making a cold glass of wine quite refreshing.

But as soon as I was home, the cute neighbor kid came over, wondering if I would like some duck eggs. Of course! We go through eggs like water over here and since I refuse to support factory farming, the expense ratchets up quickly. Then she and her brother also wanted to come over. Of course! They have a new-ish baby at their house, so I am happy to provide them with some attention and their folks with a break – I just wasn’t expecting to spend the afternoon making a pumpkin pie. A pie that, I should mention – I lacked a pie pan for, instead making do with an eight-inch square pan. At this point, I had another glass of wine.

Unfortunately, they had to return home before it finished baking, then K was in a hurry to watch our movie, so instead of the salad I’d planned, we ended up eating pumpkin pie for dinner. She had tea. I had my third glass of wine, the clear notes of the grape perfectly matched to the warm spices of the pie.

The movie, Van Helsing, earned terrible reviews, so I hesistated fulfilling K’s request to rent it. (She’d seen part of it elsewhere and wanted to now see the whole thing.) When I arrived at VX, I spent 10 minutes scanning new releases – Mondays are half-off – in hopes of finding something else. A couple looked promising, so I ambled up to the counter, “What do you think of these?” I asked the supercool, always helpful, articulate woman whose name I really, really should know by now. She hadn’t seen the one I particularly asked about, but knew people who had, but wasn’t sure, so she looked up reviews online. Meanwhile, the guy working chimed in what he knew. I revealed that I was looking for something to substitute for Van Helsing, which led her to ask, “Why?” as she’d found it entertaining. That, in turn, led to a discussion of other comic-based movies. In less than 10-minutes, I had a clear grasp on what to rent, plus a quality conversation with someone who knew of what she spoke. You don’t get that from Netflix, people! (Or any other video store in town.) I value VX’s staff for caring, for knowing movies, for stocking a variety of DVDs, for maintaining order, for always being willing to advise or discuss anything I’m considering.

We watched the movie, which was entertaining, and I figured since one more glass of wine would polish off the bottle, might as well. Yes, within six hours, that bottle’s life began and ended. A short life, perhaps, but well lived.

It’s not just the wine, but VX, I really love you, man!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. sohumborn

     /  January 28, 2009

    You crack me up! Now I want pie…

    Reply
  2. Auntie Mayme

     /  January 29, 2009

    yum pie, and a square pumpkin pie!

    Reply
  3. ekovox

     /  February 1, 2009

    Ummm, you’ve been tagged: Go here for more info:
    http://299opine.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  4. I used to get that kind of service at the Figuereido’s in Eureka. It’s not the same since I moved to McKinleyville. That’s the one and only thing I miss about life in Eureka. Maybe I should start renting movies in Arcata…

    I like white wine, but none of my friends do.

    And I cannot imagine how much work it was to move a newspaper office. Where are the new headquarters?

    Reply
  5. Richard Marks

     /  February 2, 2009

    Is this about your favorite band……….Smashed Pumpkins? Sorry, Couldn’t resist.

    Reply
  6. Uh-oh, looks like this is your second tag. You’re it!
    http://rainydaycraftsbysara.blogspot.com/2009/02/tag-youre-it.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • reading

    Seven Tenths: The Sea and its Thresholds by James Hamilton Paterson
    Raised from the Ground by José Saramago

  • read

    Kill All Your Darlings by Luc Sante
    Lost At Sea by Jon Ronson
    Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk by Ben Fountain
    Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan
    I Am Having So Much Fun Without You by Courtney Maum

  • waiting

    The Autobiography of Mark Twain
    The Glass Ocean by Lori Baker
    Woes of the True Policeman by Roberto Bolaño
    Imperfect Birds by Anne Lamott
    The Beach by Alex Garland
    The Sun and The Moon by Matthew Goodman
    A Reliable Wife by Robert Goolwick
    ...taking suggestions!

  • more words

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,443 other followers

