'Honest Scrap' blog award

So, a couple weeks ago, Christi Craig passed “The Honest Scrap Award” on to me. Very sweet! Somewhat ironically, however, I’ve been far too busy to post anything – not much of a blogger! I therefore acknowledge the compliment with equal parts appreciation and sheepishness.

blog_honest_award_thumb
Look! It's a fun award!

Of course, similar to being “tagged,” accepting the award means further requirements are at hand.

In this case, The Honest Scrap award must be shared!

First, the recipient must reveal 10 true things about themselves in their blog that no one else knows.

Second, the recipient must pass along this prestigious award to 10 more bloggers. (I only did six, since I don’t read that many blogs)

Third, those (6) bloggers must be notified they have been given this award.

Those (6) bloggers should link back to the blog that awarded them the Honest Scrap award.

Okay, so 10 true things (I can’t vouch for no one else knowing. If I were that secretive, I wouldn’t be blogging):

1. My first boyfriend and I bonded over Star Trek books.
2. I still occasionally eat brown sugar by the spoonful.
3. I owned a John Schneider album in 8th grade.
4. As a stay-at-home mom I developed a crush on Andy Griffith.
5. Also, Batman.
6. Once, stoned, I put lotion in my eyes instead of eyedrops.
7. When I was 17 and driving back from Baja in my first car, a 1967 Mustang, I blew a tire. The AAA guy came and changed it, but I didn’t realize the wheel and tire and hubcab were all individual pieces, so I drove off leaving the whole thing (including the vintage hubcab) on the side of the road. My mom was soooo mad.
8. I have never kissed a girl, but used to kiss my surfboard after particularly good sessions. (No tongue!)
9. When I was 18, my friend and I hung out in Hollywood with Steve Jones (of the Sex Pistols) and his Harley-riding entourage for a few weeks. Fortunately, we were both smart enough (even when seriously drunk) to quickly move on to less gross options. (And yes, 40-year-old men trying to get blow jobs from 18-year-olds are generally gross, regardless of who and where they are. Ewwww.)
10. The secrets I do have are sad ones and not for sharing like this.

Six blogs I enjoy because the authors share their lives with, in varying ways, grace, humor, honesty and, often, gorgeous photographs:

101 Corridor
A Beachcomber’s Blog
Bob Flame, Ranger
Chocolate-Covered Xanax
Rambling Jack’s Laboratory
Redheaded Blackbelt

(OK, I do read several blogs, but I opted to focus on the local, non-political ones that just make me feel better about being human. No hard feelings. I like you all.)

And, finally, the blog that triggered this, the very fine Writing Under Pressure.

2 thoughts on “'Honest Scrap' blog award”

  1. I read number 1 as “My first boyfriend and I boned over Star Trek books” and am still giggling about it. Sweet – thanks! I love stuff like this. So fun to read your secrets. I wonder if I even have 10 that no one else knows?

  2. Oh man…I’ve been such an extended hiatus I haven’t checked in here. I’m just about to get b ack to writing, least I hope so. Not sure I’ll get to the 10 things folks don’t know about me or not, but I’m so incredibly flattered to know I’m thunk about now and then. Thanks Jen.

Leave a Reply

