Dilemma (aka Why I am blogging and tweeting and Facebooking in these wee hours)

I checked Nick’s blood sugar at 3 a.m.

400. Way too high. We gave the appropriate insulin correction.

I checked him again at 3:45 a.m.

350. Still high, although coming down, not coming down as quickly as we’d like. Again, gave the appropriate insulin correction. But maybe what he needs is a set change – sometimes the tubing gets air bubbles or doesn’t have the best insertion into his skin and only a set change will help. I sure don’t want to wake him up, though. I don’t want to do it. Not right now. Not at 4 a.m. So I’m going to wait and check him again in an hour, hoping the number has decreased enough to justify my decision.

Yesterday he turned 15. Since he was diagnosed with diabetes four years ago, he’s grown 11 inches. His hands are much larger. I don’t feel quite so badly about piercing his fingers during these mid-night glucose checks as I did when those fingers were small. Everything else though, still hurts.

2 thoughts on “Dilemma (aka Why I am blogging and tweeting and Facebooking in these wee hours)”

  1. No big words of wisdom. Just reading about another mama’s night worries made me tear up and I wanted to send a hug…. A big long warm hug. Hope you can feel it through the cool strands of the interwebs.

Leave a Reply

