surf sessions #33, #34, #35

#33 and #34: Essentially the same. Slow waist-high close-outs off Wash Rock with the occasional shoulder that make you feel like you were there for a reason. A mushy, slow reason, but at least this one had enough face to it to spark a moment of playfulness. I surfed leashless. These sessions were all about exercise and practice.

I took no surf photos (again), but the day stayed nice and we returned to the beach, Sandy and I.

We took a visiting friend along, loaned him a wetsuit and board. Nostalgia hit me when I picked off a left, reminiscent of that first left in that same cove — the first time I turned and went down the face instead of straight, whitewater crashing behind me. The door opened. Colors deepened. The world sparkled anew. And I get that same joy every time I find myself on a nice wave; it’s always sort of a miracle that I managed to put myself in the right place at the right time and am suddenly on a wave, on my feet, flying, no coherent thought in my head, just “WOW” in its purest sense.

#35: Opted to surf closer to home and rewarded with mushy-but-long lefts and occasional rights. If I’d had any doubts about buying that longboard, they’d have been washed away by this session. Sunshine and easy living; it was that kind of day.

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. peri

     /  July 11, 2011

    Oh, sweet Sandy, HAPPY dog!

    Reply
  2. Sounds like an amazing way to spend the day. Wow indeed. : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • reading

    Seven Tenths: The Sea and its Thresholds by James Hamilton Paterson
    Raised from the Ground by José Saramago

  • read

    Kill All Your Darlings by Luc Sante
    Lost At Sea by Jon Ronson
    Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk by Ben Fountain
    Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan
    I Am Having So Much Fun Without You by Courtney Maum

  • waiting

    The Autobiography of Mark Twain
    The Glass Ocean by Lori Baker
    Woes of the True Policeman by Roberto Bolaño
    Imperfect Birds by Anne Lamott
    The Beach by Alex Garland
    The Sun and The Moon by Matthew Goodman
    A Reliable Wife by Robert Goolwick
    ...taking suggestions!

  • more words

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,545 other followers

