surf session #38: all-time and a tribute to Praxis Fitness, without whom it would not have happened

So a few years ago, I started working out at Praxis Fitness. Partly to lose some weight that annoyed me and mostly to get stronger for surfing. Well, I lost some weight and my paddling improved, so I kept going. Last week, my gym habit paid off big.

The inn stood across from a surf spot and I needed to get in the water. The waves broke small and junky, but these were desperate times. I booked across the street to check more closely. This kid with a surfboard and a thousand-mile stare broke his reverie to glance at me. He grinned hello.

“Hi! Are you going out?” I asked.

“Yeah, but I’m looking over there,” he answered.

“Over where?” I said.

“To <redacted>.”

“All the way over there?” I asked, trying to discern whatever it was he was seeing in the distance.

“Yeah.”

I scooted back to the inn, donned my wetsuit, grabbed the borrowed board and trotted back to the overlook. There he was, a speck in the water, heading south. I could either follow him into some kind of adventure or stay and surf the small, junky waves where I was.

I paddled after him.

And paddled.

And paddled.

At some point the realization that I was paddling way far from shore at a rivermouth near the beginning of fall during a really good fishing season troubled me. But just for a moment. Committed, I kept going. I was committed.

The kelp startled me, scary heads popping up next to me, and tangling around my leash. I stretched hand-over-hand, pulled myself out of it and continued on.

I wondered if I’d be too tired to actually surf when/if I ever reached the break.

And then I arrived.

Did the kelp continue to creep me out? Yes.

Could it have been more glassy? No.

“You paddled over!” the kid exclaimed. He was a perfect surf partner, friendly but not overly chatty. We swapped smiles when a particularly good set rolled through.

Overhead A-frames. Steep, sloping peak. Rights. Lefts. Perfectly peeling. I worried I’d be too worn out to get into the waves, but I made every drop. Some sort of magic graced me.

At some point, a third person joined us. I surfed until the incoming tide mushed out the waves. Knowing I had a long paddle back, I called it and set off through the kelp once again. I’d take100 strokes, then rest. Repeat. I watched the cliffs pass by. I made it to shore. No one on the beach noticed my amazing return. I tucked the board under my arm and clambered up the trail.

Later, I Googlemapped the distance between one spot and the other. Seven-tenths of a mile, one-way. Accounting for the kelp detour, I’m confident the round-trip paddle was at least a mile and a half. Could I have done this pre-Praxis? No. Do I love my gym? Yes. So pleased with my little adventure.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • reading

    Seven Tenths: The Sea and its Thresholds by James Hamilton Paterson
    Raised from the Ground by José Saramago

  • read

    The Glass Ocean by Lori Baker
    Kill All Your Darlings by Luc Sante
    Lost At Sea by Jon Ronson
    Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk by Ben Fountain
    Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan
    I Am Having So Much Fun Without You by Courtney Maum

  • waiting

    The Autobiography of Mark Twain
    The Glass Ocean by Lori Baker
    Woes of the True Policeman by Roberto Bolaño
    Imperfect Birds by Anne Lamott
    The Beach by Alex Garland
    The Sun and The Moon by Matthew Goodman
    A Reliable Wife by Robert Goolwick
    ...taking suggestions!

  • more words

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,583 other followers

