Or perhaps a simple lobotomy would help

The throbbing in my head won’t let up. Partly, I’m experiencing ocean withdrawal. Partly, the teenage experience makes me want to flee from parenting in a way I haven’t felt since they were infants incessantly crying because teeth were coming in. Partly, I’m stunned that no matter how much I work, how much I make – so lucky in these times to be working at all – life insists on upping its costs. I’ve surfed once in two weeks, walked on the beach maybe twice. When I went outside to pull a weed that had smushed up against the window, I realized I haven’t been in my own lovely backyard in nearly a month. All this fine weather and I haven’t taken 10 minutes to sit on the deck with a glass of ice tea and marvel at all the world has provided me. Meanwhile arguing over chores and curfews keeps me so agitated I forget to do things like bring the new insurance card when I go to pick up insulin, fail to realize we’ve used up all the syringes. So fortunate to have insurance, but I fear (again) what that means for the diabetes coverage. Meanwhile the car desperately needs a tune-up from all the summer driving. It rattles as if it might fly apart when I hit one of the unavoidable potholes in Arcata. But I’m still recovering from all the expense of those summer travels – and random stupid costs like the bill I paid in cash, a rare occurrence, the one I can’t find the receipt for, also unusual, the one that of course now they’re saying they show no record of payment. So there’s another $100 evaporating into zilch. I add up everything that’s due, add up every scrap of income I can imagine after combing the shelves for books to sell, if we don’t have any extra expenses, we’ll possibly catch up. If I read enough parenting advise, meditate, remember my own tumultuous youth, I may find finally figure out how to channel that longed-for maternal grace. If I remember to kick myself away from the computer, breathe in the salt air at the side of the sea, haul myself out into the ocean more often, I may yet retain my sanity. If I don’t make any mistakes, if life doesn’t serve up any more surprises – ha! on both counts – it just might all work out.

Oh, it will all work out – I know it will. I think it will. But that sliver of belief missing between “know” and “think” is what makes relaxing about it all impossible.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Hang in there, Jen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • reading

    Seven Tenths: The Sea and its Thresholds by James Hamilton Paterson
    Raised from the Ground by José Saramago

  • read

    The Glass Ocean by Lori Baker
    Kill All Your Darlings by Luc Sante
    Lost At Sea by Jon Ronson
    Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk by Ben Fountain
    Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan
    I Am Having So Much Fun Without You by Courtney Maum

  • waiting

    The Autobiography of Mark Twain
    The Glass Ocean by Lori Baker
    Woes of the True Policeman by Roberto Bolaño
    Imperfect Birds by Anne Lamott
    The Beach by Alex Garland
    The Sun and The Moon by Matthew Goodman
    A Reliable Wife by Robert Goolwick
    ...taking suggestions!

  • more words

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,583 other followers

